List of Current Nigerian Ministers and their Portfolios

Please share with others.

Ministers are senior government officials responsible for a specific government department or ministry. In Nigeria, we have 26 ministries, each headed by a Minister and “supported” by a Minister of State. For example, the Minister of Health, in person of Hon. Ali Pate is charged with the responsibility of working on policies related to public health, healthcare delivery, and disease prevention.

The minister covers the entire ministry and the minister of state assists and performs other functions as assigned by the minister. The ministers are all nominated by the president who alone has the full authority to do so. The nominees are subject to the Nigerian Senate for confirmation, after which they become members of the Cabinet.

With a total count of 45 ministers, President Bola Tinubu now has the largest cabinet in Nigeria’s democratic history. It is also noteworthy that Tinubu’s ministers are almost evenly distributed across all Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria.

Members of the Cabinet
Members of the Cabinet

List of Ministers in Nigeria, their Portfolios and their States

Here’s a list of all current Nigerian ministers and their ministries:

S/NMinisterial Portfolio ____________Name of Minister _______State of Origin
1Minister of Art, Culture
and the Creative Economy
Hon. Hannatu MusawaKatsina
2Minister of DefenceHon. Mohammed BadaruJigawa (FG)
3Minister of State, DefenceHon. Bello MatawalleZamfara (FG)
4Minister of EducationHon. Tahir MamanAdamawa
5Minister of State, EducationHon. Yusuf T. SununuKebbi
6Minister of Housing &
Urban Development
Hon. Ahmed M. DangiwaKatsina
7Minister of State, Housing &
Urban Development
Hon. Abdullahi T. GwarzoKano
8Minister of Budget &
Economic Planning
Hon. Atiku BaguduKebbi
9Minister of State, Environment
& Ecological management
Hon. Ishak SalakoOgun
10Minister of Federal Capital
Hon. Nyesom WikeRivers
11Minister of State, Federal
Capital Territory
Hon. Maigara MahmudKano
12Minister of Water Resources
& Sanitation
Hon. Joseph UtsevBenue
13Minister of State, Water
Resources & Sanitation
Hon. Bello M. GoronyoSokoto
14Minister of Agriculture & food
Hon. Abubakar KyariBorno
15Minister of State, Agriculture
& Food Security
Hon. Aliyu Sabi AbdullahiNiger
16Minister of InteriorHon. Olubunmi Tunji-OjoOndo
17Minister of Foreign AffairsHon. Yussuf M. TuggarBauchi
18Coordinating Minister of Health
& Social Welfare
Hon. Ali PateBauchi
19Minister of State, Health &
Social Welfare
Hon. Tunji AlausaLagos
20Minister of Police AffairsHon. Ibrahim GeidamYobe
21Minister of State, Police
Hon. Imaan Sulaiman IbrahimNasarawa
22Minister of Steel DevelopmentHon. Shuaibu A. AuduAdamawa
23Minister of State, Steel
Hon. U. Maigari AhmaduTaraba
24Minister of Information &
National Orientation
Hon. Muhammed IdrisNiger
25Attorney General of the
Federation and Minister of
Hon. Lateef FagbemiKwara
26Minister of Labour and
Hon. Simon B. LalongPlateau
27Minister of State, Labour
and Employment
Hon. Nkiruka OnyejeochaAbia
28Minister of Special Duties and
Inter-governmental Affairs
Hon. Zephaniah JisaloFCT
29Minister of Communications,
Innovations & Digital Economy
Hon. Bosun TijjaniOgun
30Minister of Finance & Coordinating
Minister of the Economy
Hon. Wale EdunOgun
31Minister of Marine & Blue EconomyHon. Adegboyega OyetolaOsun
32Minister of PowerHon. Adebayo AdelabuOyo
33Minister of Solid Minerals
Hon. Dele AlakeEkiti
34Minister of TourismHon. Lola Ade-JohnLagos
35Minister of TransportationHon. Sa’idu AlkaliGombe
36Minister of Industry, Trade
and Investment
Hon. Doris AniteImo
37Minister of Innovation, Science &
Hon. Uche NnajiEnugu
38Minister of WorksHon. David UmahiEbonyi
39Minister of Aviation & Aerospace
Hon. Festus KeyamoDelta
40Minister of YouthHon. Abubakar MomohEdo
41Minister of Humanitarian Affairs
& Poverty Alleviation
Hon. Betta EduCross River
42Minister of State (Gas) Petroleum
Hon. Ekperikpe EkpoAkwa-Ibom
43Minister of State (Oil) Petroleum
Hon. Heineken LokpobiriBayelsa
44Minister of Sports DevelopmentHon. John EnohCross-River
45Minister of Women AffairsHon. Uju KennedyAnambra
List of Ministers in Nigeria 2023 Tinubu
Please share with others.


Urudinachi January 14, 2024 Reply

I love ❤️❤️❤️❤️ it

Abdulbasit Toriola January 16, 2024 Reply

Hi Urudinachi! Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply