Past Inspector General of Police in Nigeria

Please share with others.

The Inspector General of Police is the head of the Police Force and the most senior and highest-ranking officer in the police service. The person who appoints the IGP is usually the President by recommendations from the Nigeria Police Council.

The current inspector general of police is IGP Kayode Egbetokun. He has been in office since June 19, 2023. This brought the count of IGPs to 22 since Nigeria was in control of the force in 1964.

Chief Louis Edet is the first indigenous Nigerian to occupy the office of Inspector General of Police. The Nigeria Police Force headquarters in Abuja is named after him as “Louis Edet House”.

Louis Edet House
The Loius Edet House.

The Current Inspector General of Police

Born on 4 September 1964, Kayode Egbetokun is the current IGP of the Police. He was appointed as “acting” by President Bola Tinubu on June 19, 2023. Kayode Egbetokun is a native of Egbado South Local Government Area of Ogun State. He was first enlisted into the Nigeria Police Force on 3 March 1990 as a Cadet ASP (Course 16).

Aside from his Police duty, IGP Kayode Egetokun is an academic scholar, having received several degrees from Universities across Nigeria. From the University of Lagos, he has two degrees — a Masters in Engineering Analysis and a Bachelors in Mathematics. He earned his PhD certificate in Peace and Security from Al-hikmah University, Ilorin, Kwara State.

Kayode Egbetokun - the current inspector general of Police in Nigeria
Kayode Egbetokun – Nigeria’s current IGP.

Before his appointment, the IGP served in the various commands, formations and departments of the Nigeria Police Force. One of particular significance was when he served between 1999 and 2005 as the Chief Security Officer (CSO) to the Governor of Lagos State, who was at the time Bola Tinubu.

The IGP’s got hobbies too. He loves reading and playing Table Tennis. He’s also a fan of Chelsea FC.

List of Past Inspector General of Police in Nigeria from 1964

Below, we’ve listed in order of year every Inspector General of Police appointed since the country’s independence in 1960.

  1. IGP Louis Edet: 1964–1966
  2. IGP Kam Salem: 1966–1975
  3. IGP Muhammadu Dikko Yusufu: 1975–1979
  4. IGP Adamu Suleiman: 1979–1981
  5. IGP Sunday Adewusi: 1981–1983
  6. IGP Etim Inyang: 1985–1986
  7. IGP Muhammadu Gambo-Jimeta: 1986–1990
  8. IGP Aliyu Atta: 1990–1993
  9. IGP Ibrahim Coomassie: 1993–1999
  10. IGP Musiliu Smith: 1999–2002
  11. IGP Mustafa Adebayo Balogun: 2002 – 2005
  12. IGP Sunday Ehindero: 2005–2007
  13. IGP Mike Mbama Okiro: 2007–2009
  14. IGP Ogbonna Okechukwu Onovo: 2009 – 2010
  15. IGP Hafiz Ringim: 2010 – 2012
  16. IGP Mohammed Dikko Abubarkar: 2012 – 2014
  17. IGP Suleiman Abba: 2014 -2015
  18. IGP Solomon E. Arase: 2015 – 2016
  19. IGP Ibrahim Idris: 2016-January 15, 2019
  20. IGP Abubakar Mohammed Adamu: January 15, 2019 – April 6, 2021
  21. IGP Usman Ali Alkali Baba: April 6, 2021 – June 19, 2023
  22. IGP Kayode Egbetokun (Acting): June 19, 2023 – till date.

S/NName of Inspector GeneralTenure SpanAppointing President
1IGP Louis Edet1964-1966Azikiwe
2IGP Kam Salem1966-1975Gowon
3IGP Muhammadu Dikko Yusufu1975-1979Murtala & Obasanjo
4IGP Adamu Suleiman1979-1981Shehu Shagari
5IGP Sunday Adewusi1981-1983Shehu Shagari
6IGP Etim Inyang1983-1986Buhari
7IGP Muhammadu Gambo-Jimeta1986-1990Babangida
8IGP Aliyu Atta1990-1993Babangida
9IGP Ibrahim Coomassie1993-1999Abacha & Abubakar
10IGP Musiliu SMith1999-2002Obasanjo
11IGP Mustafa Adebayo Balogun2002-2005Obasanjo
12IGP Sunday Ehindero2005-2007Obasanjo
13IGP Mike Mbama Okiro2007-2009Yar’Adua
14IGP Ogbonna Okechukwu Onovo2009-2010Yar’Adua
15IGP Hafiz Ringim2010-2012Jonathan
16IGP Mohammed Dikko Abubakar2012-2014Jonathan
17IGP Suleiman Abba2014-2015Jonathan
18IGP Solomon E. Arase2015-2016Buhari
19IGP Ibrahim Idris2016-2019Buhari
20IGP Abubakar Mohammed Adamu2019-2021Buhari
21IGP Usman Ali Alkali Baba2021-2023Buhari
22IGP Kayode Egbetokun2023-till dateBola Tinubu
List of Past and Present Inspector General of Police

What is the duty of the Inspector General of Police?

As the highest-ranking official, the Inspector General of Police in Nigeria sets strategic direction, enforces policies, and provides leadership to the police force.

Hence, the IGP’s key responsibilities include resource management, accountability, interagency cooperation, and community engagement to ensure public safety and trust in law enforcement across all states and local government areas.

What is the name of the Inspector General of Nigeria?

Kayode Egbetokun is the current Inspector General of Police. He displaced Usman Alkali Baba as the IGP when President Bola Ahmed Tinubu appointed him on June 19, 2023. This makes him the 22nd Nigerian Inspector General of Police.

Who was the first Inspector General of Police in Nigeria?

The first Inspector General of the Nigerian Police Force was Chief Louis Edet. He served from 1964 to 1966. The Calabar man was appointed on April 1, taking over from the last expatriate in person of Mr. J.E, Hodge.

Who is the immediate past IGP of Nigeria?

The immediate past IGP is IGP Usman Alkali Baba. He handed over the baton to IGP (acting) Kayode Egbetokun on June 19, 2023. He replaced Mohammed Adamu in February 2021.


That’s it! We hope this comprehensive helped you in your research into past Nigerian IGPs. You can tell us in the comment section.

Please share with others.

One Comment

Midah David February 1, 2024 Reply

It’s very important for having or understanding the twitter over the explanation

Leave a Reply