List of INEC Chairman from 1999 till Date

Please share with others.

The origin of Electoral Bodies in Nigeria can be traced back to the period before independence when the Electoral Commission of Nigeria (ECN) was established for the 1959 elections. Over the years, this body has been dissolved and replaced. Here’s an overview below:

  • Electoral Commission of Nigeria: Established in 1959.
  • Federal Electoral Commission (FEC): Established in 1960, dissolved in 1966
  • Federal Electoral Commission (FEDECO): Established in 1978. 
  • National Electoral Commission (NEC): Dissolved in 1993
  • National Electoral Commission of Nigeria (NECON): Established in 1995, dissolved in 1998.
  • Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC): Established in 1998.
Chairman of INEC
Professor Mahmood Yakubu – Current INEC Chairman.

A chairman usually heads the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) alongside 12 national commissioners. The first INEC chairman was Ephraim Akpata (appointed in 1998) while the current chairman of INEC is Prof. Mahmood Yakubu.

The INEC chairman leads the commission and manages the entire electoral process in Nigeria, from voter registration to announcing election results. This article lists the INEC chairmen in Nigeria from 1960 through 1998 till date, detailing their tenure and accomplishments.

ChairmanYear in OfficeCommission
Eyo Esua1960-1966FEDECO
Michael Ani1976-1979FEC
Victor Ovie-Whiskey1983FEC
Eme Awa1987-1989NEC
Humphrey Nwosu1989-1993NEC
Prof.Okon Uya1993-1994NEC
Sumner Dagogo-Jack1994-1998NECON
Ephraim Akpata1998-1999INEC
Abel Guobadia2000-2005INEC
Maurice Iwu2005-2010INEC
Attahiru Jega2010 – 2015INEC
Mahmood Yakubu2015 till dateINEC
Chairmen of INEC from 1960 till date.
Please share with others.


Onwodi nonso March 11, 2024 Reply

I love this, this is just what I have been looking for that other websites had not given me I give u a thumbs up

Abdulbasit Toriola March 30, 2024 Reply

Glad this blog post helped you, Nonso.

Leave a Reply