Complete List of Senate President in Nigeria from 1960 till date

Please share with others.

After the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, we have the vice president. The next in line is the Senate president. As you’ve previously learnt, we have 109 senators in Nigeria that are picked across the 36 States in Nigeria. All these senators are headed by a single senate president. The function of the Senate in Nigeria is to make laws, represent the interests of states, and check the power of the executive branch.

The Senate is said to be the upper chamber of Nigeria’s bicameral legislature. Another name for the Senate is the National Assembly. The National Assembly, popularly known as NASS, is the nation’s legislature and has the power to make laws and also put the Executive. The roles and responsibilities of the Senate are summarized in Chapter One, Section Four of the 1999 Constitution of Nigeria [read here]. Note that the lower chamber of Nigeria’s bicameral legislature is the House of Representatives.

This article highlights all the senate presidents Nigeria ever had, alongside their tenure and their party. Let’s get into it!


The Senate has the sole authority to try and remove the President or Vice President from office in cases of gross misconduct or inability to perform their duties.

List of Senate President in Nigeria

NB: Please slide from right to left if the whole table is not visible on your screen.

S/NSenate President ____Term/Tenure__Party__
1Nnamdi Azikwe1960NCNC
2Dennis Ossadebay1960 – 1963NCNC
3Nwafor Orizu1963 – 1966NCNC
4Joseph Wayas1979 – 1983NPN
5Iyorchia Ayu1992 – 1993SDP
6Ameh Ebute1993SDP
7Evan Enwerem1999PDP
8Chuba Okadigbo1999 – 2000PDP
9Anyim Pius Anyim2000 -2003PDP
10Adolphus Wabara2003 – 2005PDP
11Ken Nnamani2005 – 2007PDP
12David Mark2007 – 2015PDP
13Bukola Saraki2015 – 2019APC
14Ahmed Lawan2019 -2023APC
15Godswill Akpabio2023 till dateAPC
List of Senate President in Nigeria

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is the first Senate president of Nigeria?

The first Senate president of Nigeria is Nnamdi Azikiwe.

Who is the current Senate President of Nigeria?

The current Senate president of Nigeria is in Godswill Akpabio.

How many senators do we have in Nigeria?

There are 109 senators in Nigeria. Each 36 states has 3 while the FCT has 1.

Please share with others.

Leave a Reply